So today I am going to talk about where I left off in my last blog. In my last blog entry I discussed the dangers of chemical relaxers and how that trend is shifting to Natural hair. Today I am going to discuss what lead me to finally stop getting relaxers. So when “going natural” first started getting popular I wasn’t a fan. I was seeing these black girls cutting off all of their hair and wearing short dry looking afros. Some of my friends and family started going natural, including my little sister. A few of them had suggested I stop getting relaxers and go natural. I was against it. I thought my hair was too “nappy” to not get relaxers. I felt like I didn’t have a nice texture of hair to do it. However, I kept seeing more and more girls go natural and my sister was sending me videos from YouTube of girls who were natural. Suddenly I was having a change of heart. I decided to do some more research on what it meant to truly be Natural. I heard that it was a lot more work than caring for relaxed hair and I wanted to know what it consisted of. So after hours of googling information about natural hair I decided that it was something I would definitely consider but I wasn’t sure if I was ready to make that step. At this time, I already had not had a relaxer in six months and my hair was in micro braids (you are supposed to get relaxers every 6-8 weeks). I felt like I was already on the path to becoming natural if I wanted too. Like two weeks later, I was at work at Chick-fil-a wondering what would I do to my hair next and when should I schedule my next relaxer. Then I thought about how boring it was to get a relaxer because the only thing I would be able to do with it is wear it down. I finally decided that I wanted to try something new and different and that was the day I made the decision to start the process of going natural. I was both excited and scared. I told all my friends and family. For the most part I got positive feedback. Now there are a couple ways that someone can “go natural”. Either by transitioning, which means keeping your relaxed hair but growing out your natural hair at the same time, and then when its long enough do the “Big Chop”/. Most people who transition wear braids, weaves or wigs. Or you can “Big Chop” all at once and not transition. I was so afraid of having a really short hair cut so I decided to transition while wearing a weave and then big chop my hair six months later and wear it natural over the summer. And that’s the story on how I made this big decison 🙂 below I attachedImage photo source: satanforce.wordpress.com

below I have attached a link to a YouTube video explaining more about chemical relaxers. Enjoy 🙂